Weekly Update – 7th July 2014

Hey there everyone,

Figured I would write weekly ones as well, this will definitely keep me in the habit of doing these updates. With these I was thinking of just writing a bit about each day and then post it at the end of the week! Tell me what you think 🙂

The start of this week has not been the best to say the least! Came into labs after little sleep having been up all night researching, to find out I am not doing anything in the lab but more research (I am actually writing this bit instead of doing said research). Been looking at writing my introduction as my supervisor would like my paper to be published! For a first/ second year undergraduate (don’t know what I am called now…) to have your paper published is amazing and a huge deal! I have to find a ‘market / selling point’ for the idea we have. Thing is most papers are done over a long period of time of research and experimentation, like a year perhaps?! I have 6 weeks, to complete the experiments, write up the paper and get it published! :O how on Earth is this even possible. So yea, I am currently doing more research but I hope to be doing some microscopy soon, I will try and put up some of the pictures from that because they should hopefully look really cool!

Okay, so the microscopy is amazing! At first I was just getting used to it, on a normal one, because I have not done it in 2 years (I should point out that the microscopes I am using are not ones in schools, anyone can use them, these ones are high powered, fluorescence (hate spelling that word :@ ) microscopes worth a minimum of £80,000 upwards!), I took some images for practice before using the confocal microscope!

The confocal microscope take images of each layer depending on the thickness of the sample, and compresses the image. The samples were stained with a dye for visual help. I want to put some images to show you guys but the file is in a different format that cannot be converted. Just imagine a black screen with some green of different intensities in a nice pattern….

As I feel bad for not giving an image….here is an image that is mine, I took this 2 years ago. Basically its a bunch of cells (fibroblast cells), that has 3 stains in it which show green, blue and red (appears yellow here), image taken in each of the dyes and then compressed together to give below!

Stained Fibroblast cells, 3 images compressed together.

So aside from work, I did actually have fun…..granted not much in comparison to the amount of work done but I went to see ‘How to train your dragon 2‘!!!!!! It was amazing so good, if you have not seen the first one then see it and then see this one! For an animated film (targeted at young children) I loved it! I absolutely love DreamWorks and Disney films, I think I am still a big kid at heart! OMG, I might do a post on the best films ever! Maybe not, could be a lot of hate there….

But watching this film reminded me of the whole Disney theory, that actually all Disney movies are linked together in some way. I am not fully aware of the theory, or if it is true, or if its Disney just playing on the hardcore Disney fans but I think it’s really weird.

You must see ‘How to train your dragon 2‘ though, just go and see it!

I also went to play Bingo, with one of my best friends ever and my mum (it was her birthday), it was my first time going and I was told that all first timers win…..I was really excited to win (as a student the appeal of winning money is great) however it was not my luck! I was disappointed but nevertheless I had a great night! Well worth going for the experience!

Anyway, as I am finishing this post, instead of working, I need to get back to my work! Sorry for the images not working, or the ones I wanted to put up, feel bad.

Hope you liked this weekly update! If you like it please let me know, and if you want me to do more! Hopefully next week is more interesting….? :/

See you soon 😀

 

Leave a Reply

